4 Mobile Apps that Helped me Save Money

4 Mobile Apps that Helped me Save Money

Apps don't have to be a waste of money. Check out 4 money-saving apps.

·

4 min read

Email Client

Airmail 🤯 was an upgrade to my Apple email client. With the number of features that it offers, it is effectively good. It is versatile in terms of email management and makes adding various email accounts a breeze. The app also allows you to manage contacts and customise your emails. Airmail is also fully customisable, with various colours for different accounts. Airmail's main flaw is that it lacks the polish of Apple Mail and Spark. It's a fantastic app, but it has never won me over for regular use even though it ranks near the top.

Spark ✌️ is a brilliant app specially designed to sort different accounts. The application features a smart inbox that helps me organise my email into pinned, new, seen, and many other categories. It also includes the ability to snooze emails, send later, email reminders, smart alerts, and a plethora of third-party app integrations (Dropbox, Google Drive, Todoist being my favourite). Spark Mail, in my opinion, should be the first choice because it is easier, faster, and less bothersome (paid upgrade nags). I use and like Spark because of its design and availability. Additional features like pinning emails and snoozing them for later are a bonus for me and $9.99/year saved.

Password Manager

LastPass's 🤯 free version used to include multi-device sync in addition to unlimited storage. Unfortunately, LastPass's decided to divide its free account into two categories: computers and mobile devices. This suggests that if you use LastPass's on your desktop computer, you can also use it on your laptop, but not on your smartphone. As you might expect, this is extremely inconvenient for free users who require password sync between computers and mobile devices, which is now a paid feature. Upgrading to Premium unlocked a few extra features, but the plan isn't worth $3 per month since I hardly ever used this feature aside the 2FA.

Bitwarden's ✌️ usability is impressive but it’s no match for LastPass but that is the least of my concerns . Bitwarden has ensured that the free version includes all of its core functions. This includes options for unlimited storage, multi-device sync, and two-factor authentication. The paid plan, includes 1GB of encrypted file storage, a few more 2FA options, customer service, and password health reports. Bitwarden Premium costs less than $1 per month, for a total of $10 per year. In the context of the free plan, Premium appears to be a way to support the developers and I love open source so bye 👋 LastPass. Bitwarden provides enough features, security, pricing, and support to be a stronger password manager for me, as well as cost effectiveness

Podcast

I you use my iPhone to listen to podcasts, and after using the Apple Pocast 🤢 app…need I say more? So I switched to Overcast 🤯 which is ad-supported, the ads are category-targeted. You can also pay to have them removed. It has a simple, user-friendly interface for finding and listening to podcasts. If you pay, the app includes high-quality effects and intelligent playlist management. Overcast can be a bit difficult to use maybe because of the user experience, I must admit.

Downcast ✌️ is a fantastic app for organising my podcasts, with a number useful features; support for iCloud sync, so I can resume where I left off, playlist creation tools are also useful, allowing me to create a playlist for regular listening. Perhaps one my preferred Downcast options is the ability to specify not only how frequently the podcast catcher checks for new episodes, but also where you are when it does so. I can configure it to check for new episodes when I arrive at home or work(yes I love free internet), for example. Priced at $2.99 for one time purchase compared to a yearly subscription of $9.99/year for Overtime with similar features, why not? 💰

Email

So, having jumped on the secured email bandwagon. I started with ProtonMail 🤯 for free and later upgraded to paid. ProtonMail delivered emails without a hitch. The experience was consistent with a well-designed system. The web interface is lovely, streamlined, and everything is right where you expect it to be. The fact that you have complete control over the CSS of the interface and can thus make it look almost exactly how you want it to look is fantastic, but I needed a new email service and discovered Hey but Mehn! 😓, the hype surrounding the app on Twitter almost convinced me to use Hey out of FOMO, but I was determined 💪🏿 not to waste my precious $99/year to read my email, something which I occasionally do.

Tutanota ✌️, with plans starting at (around $14), as opposed to ProtonMail, which has plans starting at $48/year. You also get a single custom domain, five email aliases, full access to search, and the ability to create inbox rules for enhanced security and privacy. Aside from the app's boring minimal user interface, I'd take Tutanota any day.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Ota by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!